top of page

FOG BLOG WORLD NEWS LOG: WORLD LEADERS MEET FOR EMERGENCY NATO AND G7 SUMMIT!

What we're covering here


  • A month after Russia's invasion of Ukraine, its forces are being pushed back around Kyiv and are taking defensive positions northwest of the capital, a US official said. The Ukrainian Navy also said a Russian ship was destroyed in the occupied port of Berdyansk on the Azov Sea.

  • World leaders met in Brussels for a round of emergency summits of NATO, the European Council and the G7 as they sought to align their responses to Russia's invasion, with the US announcing new sanctions and refugee assistance.

  • Ukrainian President Zelensky stopped short of requesting a no-fly zone in an address to NATO today, but did call for military assistance and better air defenses. Ukraine's Foreign Minister Dmytro Kuleba urged Europe to ignore Russia’s insistence that payment for future deliveries of Russian gas will need to be made in rubles, an announcement that saw European gas prices soar...Ukrainian teen escaped from Chernihiv and survived a blast that killed his mother

Andriy, a 15-year-old Ukrainian teen from Chernihiv, escaped his city after being forced from his home and then drove over what he thinks was a land mine, he told CNN. "I see a yellow explosion. Sound in ears. And I just remember like I woke up in road. I see the broken car. And I see like my mother with fire," he told CNN's John Berman while recovering in a children's hospital in Lviv. "I feel blood in my left ear. Then I hear shooting ... from rockets or something." He said he was screaming and couldn't walk. Villagers who heard the explosion brought him to safety. His mother burned to death. Andriy started crying when asked about his mother, saying it is "very difficult" for his family. "I want you to know my mother was a very beautiful woman," he said via a translator. The northern city of Chernihiv has seen some of the most intense shelling since Russia invaded Ukraine a month ago. Badly damaged buildings line rubble-strewn streets, while still-burning fires fill the air with heavy smoke, as seen in a new video from Mayor Vladyslav Atroshenko. "It's very hard to look what going on with my city," he added, saying that he'll go back once the war ends. Andriy said he wants to "distance myself from this war," then played a song on his guitar for Berman.




Yorumlar


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page