top of page

FOG BLOG U.S. JUSTICE LOG: DEREK CHAUVIN TRIAL: WITNESSES SAY GEORGE FLOYD WAS MURDERED!

Court has adjourned for the day

Judge Peter Cahill adjourned proceedings in the trial of Derek Chauvin for the day. Witness testimony will continue tomorrow morning at 10:30 a.m. ET with Genevieve Hansen, a trained EMT and Minneapolis firefighter. Hansen took the stand today and testified that she was walking by the scene on May 25, 2020 when she came upon the George Floyd incident. Prosecutors played video footage that featured Hansen pleading with the officers to check Floyd's pulse. She said she should have called 911 "immediately" after arriving on the scene. Hansen said once the ambulance left with Floyd, she stood there on the sidewalk in "disbelief." "I should have called 911 immediately but I didn't and when things calmed down I realized that I wanted them to know what was going on. I wanted to basically report it," she added. Hansen told prosecutors that she felt "helpless" and was upset about what she saw. When the prosecutor asked her why she felt helpless, she said, "because there was a man being killed, and I would have... had I had access to a call similar to that, I would have been able to provide medical attention to the best of my abilities and this human was denied that."




Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page