top of page

FOG BLOG SPORTS LOG: MONCTON NB'S DANIELLE DORRIS WINS GOLD IN PARA SWIMMING CHAMPIONSHIPS!

Danielle Dorris captures Canada's 6th gold medal at Para swimming worlds Moncton, N.B., native takes top spot in women's S7 100-metre backstroke Canada's Danielle Dorris is a world champion once again.

The Moncton, N.B., native claimed gold in the women's S7 100-metre backstroke on Thursday at the Para swimming world championships in Manchester, England.

Dorris went out in the first half of the race in 38 seconds, eventually touching the wall in one minute 22.02 seconds to earn the win. American Julia Gaffney earned silver at 1:22.26, while Ukraine's Veronika Korzhova scored bronze at 1:23.52.

"That whole thing was so much fun. That first 50 [metres] felt amazing. The second 50 started to hurt, but I could see everybody trying to catch up and I was like, 'No I have it, I need to hold off for a little bit longer.' And I was able to get to that touch and I was able to win so I'm really happy," Dorris said. It's the second medal of the meet for Dorris after the 20-year-old also took bronze in the SM7 200 individual medley. Dorris won her first career world gold medal in 2022 in the S7 50 butterfly, and is also the reigning Paralympic champion and world-record holder in the discipline.

  • Canadian Para swimmer Dorris ready for world title defence after reuniting with longtime coach


She was the silver medallist in the 100m backstroke at the 2021 Paralympics and 2022 worlds.

"The gold in the 100 back wasn't necessarily the goal here," Dorris said. "I just wanted to do the best that I could, maybe a second but getting the gold I feel very happy, that's the first time that's happened in that event."

Dorris, who was born with only a portion of her arms, utilized her strong underwater kick to maintain the lead and hold off Gaffney, who holds the world record (1:19.47).

"We've been working on my underwater kick all year and being able to utilize it as my go-to; I'm very proud and that was the result I got," she said. ''Off the wall, the challenge is to hold my breath and go as long as I can and try to do the same off the turn which I did tonight."

She will defend her butterfly world title on Friday during the evening session in Manchester, which begins at 12:35 p.m. ET. Dorris will also compete in the S7 50m freestyle on Saturday.



Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page