top of page

FOG BLOG PARALYMPICS LOG: CANADA ADDS TO MEDAL COUNT: 1GOLD, 6SILVER , 4BRONZE:

Canadian wheelchair racer Brent Lakatos wins silver in 400m final, second of Games...Canadian women's swimming relay team awarded surprise bronze after GB, U.S. DQ'd......Wheelchair racer Brent Lakatos continued building on an impressive start to his Tokyo Paralympics.

The 41-year-old from Dorval, Que., secured a silver medal in the T53 men's 400-metre final on Sunday, setting a personal best time of 46.75 in the process.

It was Lakatos' second silver of the Games after finishing as the runner-up in the men's T54 5,000-metre final on Saturday, and his ninth Paralympic medal overall.

"I didn't really ever think [winning nine medals] would be possible," Lakatos said after the race. "I was considering retiring after Beijing, and my wife [Paralympic long jumper Stefanie Reid of Great Britain] and I, we decided to go for one more to try and get a medal, try to get one medal.

"I thought I'd retire after London [2012], I thought I'd retire after Rio [2016] and somehow I'm still here and that number is slowly growing. And so, it doesn't really seem real ... it's nice."



Komentarze


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page