top of page

FOG BLOG HISTORY LOG: 50 YRS. SINCE PAUL HENDERSON SCORED WINNING GOAL, CAN BEATS USSR IN 1972- 6-5!

Henderson remains hero in Canada 50 years after 1972 Summit Series goal Forward says iconic winner in Game 8 against Soviet Union 'changed a lot of lives' MISSISSAUGA, Ontario -- At first blush, Paul Henderson's basement looks like a tasteful shrine to one of the greatest moments in hockey history, in Canadian history and, more specifically, in his life.

On one wall is a framed portrait containing personally signed hockey cards of every one of his teammates from the famed 1972 Summit Series, an eight-game showdown between Canada-born NHL players and the Soviet Union. Not too far away is a painting of he and his teammates standing on the blue line listening to the national anthem during the series. The portrait is, fittingly, titled "O Canada." The coup de grace is one of the most famous photos in Canada, even now. It shows him bear-hugging teammate Yvon Cournoyer while celebrating Henderson's goal with 34 seconds remaining in Game 8 that gave Canada a 6-5 victory, and a 4-3-1 win in the series, at Luzhniki Palace of Sports in Moscow on Sept. 28, 1972. It is the moment that made him a national hero to this day.

"I guess that's the way people still look at me," the 79-year-old said. "It changed my life. It changed a lot of lives. It changed hockey. And it brought the country together. I mean, I still get stopped on the street, at the airport, at the store and get asked about it.

"I've been fighting cancer for over a decade and I'm fortunate that I'm feeling pretty good right now. It makes you appreciate things, embrace things."

Including what he calls The Goal.

"I'm fortunate," he said. "I turn 80 next year and still weigh the same as when I played (about 180 pounds). I play golf twice a week. And I work out almost every day."


Comentarios


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page