top of page

FOG BLOG BEIJING WINTER OLYMPICS LOG: CANADA'S ISABELLE WEIDEMANN WINS FIRST MEDAL FOR CANADA!

Olympic wake-up call: Canada earns 1st medals of Beijing 2022.....Here's what you may have missed on Day 1 of the Beijing Olympic Winter Games.......Bronze medallist Isabelle Weidemann celebrates during the women's 3,000 metre flower ceremony. Weidemann won Canada's first medal of the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympic Games on Saturday, and became only the third Canadian woman to win a medal in the Olympic event.......Speed skater Isabelle Weidemann won Canada's first medal on Day 1 of the Beijing 2022 Olympic Winter Games, claiming bronze in the women's 3,000 metres on Saturday in Beijing.


  • Isabelle Weidemann skates to Canada's 1st medal of Beijing 2022 with bronze in women's 3,000m


The 26-year-old from Ottawa put up a time of three minutes, 58.64 seconds, en route to her first Olympic podium result.

"I was a little bit shaky at the start. I was really nervous going to the line," an ecstatic Weidemann said after the race.

"I knew that I had to just get through the first few laps before I could start to fight and really show the work that I've done. I think I had about four laps to go, and I could see my pair was starting to slow down a little bit, and I knew I had a little bit more. So I think at that point I was like, 'I can fight this.'"


Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page