top of page

Fog Blog Ridiculog:

THIS WEEK ITS ALL ABOUT GOUGING SENIORS! SOME SENIORS ARE BETTER OFF THAN OTHERS. I'M USING MY MOTHER'S SITUATION FOR EXAMPLE....SHE LOST HER HUSBAND ALMOST 4 YEARS AGO. When my father was still living the combined income was enough to pay bills and keep that roof over our heads! When he went into institutional care and was considered medically discharged it became tighter for my Mom to pay all bills and especially the short stint in the nursing home! Now they have cut her income in half and I do what I can, especially looking for a new job to help out as I live with my mother! The income doesn't come close to paying the bills so she has to resort to credit cards and the bank line of credit. Soon the lines of credit will run out and she may have to sell the house with no where to go! I think a lot of seniors have this dilemma! Having a December power bill of over $500. and Jan. and Feb.'s bill to be higher and then boom.....the yearly water bill comes in in March!! What can one do to pay these outrageous bills. The Saint John water bill will be around $1400. this year with about $600. of it expected up front. The NB government boasts doing what they can to keep seniors in their home that they worked hard for early in life, not enough is being done! I think there should be provisions for special cases , like when your income is low to begin with and you lose a spouse. Let's do more for seniors, governments!!!! Keep this story off the Ridiculog!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page